These days, even the dumbest thieves know that the very first thing you must do after you steal a telephone is activate airplane mode. Not solely does this make it tougher for police to trace the telephone by way of cell tower triangulation, nevertheless it additionally disables security measures the particular person you stole it from could have carried out — as an example, Samsung’s Discover My Cell service.

Beginning in One UI 3.0, you may nonetheless monitor your Galaxy telephone even when it is in aeroplane mode. The gadget will scan Bluetooth and Wi-Fi frequencies with out being related, and if it finds a close-by Samsung gadget with the identical function enabled, it should ship an encrypted location report back to the neighbouring telephone. So long as that telephone is related to the web, it should then ship your telephone’s location to Samsung’s servers so you may nonetheless use the monitoring function.

What You will Want

  • Galaxy gadget operating One UI 3.Zero or greater
  • PIN, sample, or password set as display screen lock

Step 1: Allow Discover My Cell

First, open your Settings app and scroll down a bit to pick out “Biometrics and safety.” Right here, ensure the toggle swap subsequent to “Discover My Cell” is turned on, then faucet the precise “Discover My Cell” textual content to open a submenu.

Step 2: Allow Offline Discovering

Within the Discover My Cell submenu, faucet the “Offline discovering” textual content (somewhat than the toggle swap subsequent to it). On the subsequent display screen, ensure each toggles are enabled. The primary one turns the general function on, and the second ensures that your telephone’s location experiences are encrypted as they’re transmitted to close by Samsung gadgets and on to the Discover My Cell servers.

Now, you may nonetheless be capable to use the Discover My Cell location monitoring function even when a thief places your telephone in aeroplane mode — however once more, provided that there are internet-connected Galaxy gadgets close by with this identical function turned on. It is also value noting that you simply will not be capable to wipe or lock the gadget remotely till it reconnects to the web.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here