Most of you have probably wondered at least once who has been checking out your social media profiles. While most platforms prohibit you from seeing who’s viewed your profile, such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, TikTok is one of the few places that lets you track profile visitors. And unlike with LinkedIn, you don’t have to pay for the privilege.
The feature is helpful for many reasons. If you’re a creator and want to grow your following, seeing who your visitors are can help you shape future content to those demographics. For casual users, seeing who has been interacting with your profile can simply satisfy your curiosity, but it can also help you see if someone you know is interested in you or help you identify possible stalkers.
While TikTok had previously shown people who’ve viewed your profile, it removed the feature before implementing an improved “Profile view history” in 2022. The new version is available in both the Android and iOS apps.
Before Using TikTok’s Profile View History Feature
Before continuing, it’s important to note a few things. If you don’t see the feature or aren’t getting the expected results, one of these points may be the answer:
- You must be 16 or older to see your profile view history.
- You must have less than 5,000 followers to see your profile view history.
- Only you can see your profile view history — no one else.
- You can only see your profile view history for the last 30 days.
- Only accounts that have enabled their profile view history will show up in your profile view history.
- By turning your profile view history on, you’ll show up in the profile view history for other accounts that have also enabled it.
- You can’t see your profile view history if your account is private.
- You may still show up in someone else’s profile view history if your account is private but has the profile view history enabled.
- You won’t be able to see your profile view history after you disable the feature, but the results will all come back when you reactivate it.
- Other accounts won’t be able to see you in their profile view history after you disable the feature, but you’ll show up again as soon as you reactive the feature if your view was less than 30 days ago.
How to Enable Profile Views for Your TikTok Account
By default, TikTok won’t show you who viewed your profile unless you opt in, and there are a few ways you can turn on profile views.
Method 1: From Your Privacy Settings
Open the menu (three-lined icon) from your “Profile” tab, tap “Settings and privacy,” and then choose “Privacy.” Next, tap “Profile views” under the Safety section and toggle “Profile view history” on.
Method 2: From Your Profile Views Page
Even if you haven’t opted in yet to profile views, you can still access the page where you would see all of the accounts that have checked out your profile. From there, you can activate the feature. Tap the eye icon next to the menu button in your “Profile” tab to open up the profile views page, then hit the “Turn on” button.
Method 3: From Your Inbox
You may notice in the “Inbox” tab on TikTok some activity alerts for “Profile views,” where one or more people have viewed your profile. Tap on one of these alerts from the Activities section to head directly to the profile views page, then hit the “Turn on” button.
How to View Who Has Seen Your TikTok Profile
You can tap the eye icon next to the menu button in your “Profile” tab to open the profile views page. If you have new profile views you haven’t looked at yet, the eye will be the profile image for the last account that visited your profile, and a number badge will tell how many profile views are new.
On the profile views page, you can see who viewed your profile with a “Follow” button and a link to their profile.
Alternatively, you will receive activity alerts in the “Inbox” tab whenever someone checks your profile out. If the feature is running, you’ll see who viewed your profile and when under Activities. Tapping an alert will open the profile views page.
How to Disable Profile Views for Your TikTok Account
There are multiple ways to turn off profile views on your account, and they’re just like enabling the feature. As in Method 1 above, open the menu from your “Profile” tab, then navigate to Settings and privacy –> Privacy –> Profile views. Then, toggle “Profile view history” off.
As in Method 2 and 3 above, tap the eye icon (or last viewer’s profile image with number badge) on your “Profiles” tab to open the profile views. Then, tap the settings cog to open a shortcut to the “Profile view history” toggle, switch it off, and close the window. You can also get to the setting by opening an activity alert from your “Inbox.”
How to Prevent Others from Seeing Your Visits
While it’s all mentioned above, I’ll reiterate how to prevent other TikTok accounts from seeing that you’ve viewed their profile. First off, setting your account to private isn’t good enough. While you won’t see anybody in your profile view history, you may still appear in theirs.
The primary way to prevent other TikTok users from seeing your name as a profile visitor is to disable your profile view history. If you turn it back on, you’ll show up again in the profile view history for other accounts if you viewed their account less than 30 days ago.
Another way is to amass more than 5,000 followers, removing the feature entirely from your account.
Keep Your Connection Secure Without a Monthly Bill. Get a lifetime subscription to VPN Unlimited for all your devices with a one-time purchase from the new Gadget Hacks Shop, and watch Hulu or Netflix without regional restrictions, increase security when browsing on public networks, and more.
Other worthwhile deals to check out: